Bag Lady : Loving Eco-Friendly Totes

23 Sep

When I received my first Friday CSA drop-off of vegetables, herbs and tomatoes from Roy Ranch, a standout item was the sweet canvas bag in which everything was packaged. It read “I Love Dirt (Support Local Farms)” in brick red printed on natural cotton canvas.

Roy Ranch's Eco-Friendly Packaging

Roy Ranch's Eco-Friendly Packaging

I have a collection of my own reusable bags for grocery shopping, although when you live in a small town, people tend to look at you strangely when you ask them to bag your cereal in a fire engine red “Trader Joes” tote. I’m from California, what? Every time I meet up with friends for lunch at Whole Foods, I have to force myself to resist their collection of adorable recycled and reusable grocery bags. All this adds up to a rather unhealthy obsession with eco-friendly totes.

No surprise that I ended up surfing the ‘net this week in search of some plain, “green” cotton or canvas bags to use for packaging holiday gifts this year. Yes, it’s September, but at the first sign of a crisp morning, I start thinking sleigh bells, hot chocolate and fresh garland. Not to mention Starbucks is now serving Pumpkin Spice Lattes. It might as well be Thanksgiving. I am my mother’s daughter.

Anyway, my search led me to Reusable Bags, a website that compiles information on lots of eco-vendors. The site carries loads of reusable loot, but my focus was on finding a plain, durable bag made of recycled cotton, if possible.

Ecobags Recycled Cotton Tote

Ecobags Recycled Cotton Tote

Ecobags carries one such tote : roomy, sturdy, reinforced with 22 inch handles, which can easily be slung over a shoulder. Add in a stencil with a cool design, some pomegranate juice in lieu of fabric paint, and you’ve got yourself a stylish, eco-friendly treat all wrapped up in a recycled cotton tote. {LOVE}

5 Responses to “Bag Lady : Loving Eco-Friendly Totes”

  1. Katy September 23, 2009 at 11:59 pm #

    I like the christmas gift idea. I’m thinking bday’s too. I think I will make some for Christmas and put the gifts inside. So much for creasing the edges of nicely wrapped packages. I’m going green.

  2. Molly September 24, 2009 at 12:00 am #

    You are a stronger person than I am. I cannot get through the checkout line at Whole Foods or Trader Joes’ without purchasing a new eco-friendly reusable tote. I think I have a million now, but you can never have too many, right? Anyway, thanks for the tip on Ecobags. What a great idea for Christmas gifts this year!

  3. greenfingerprint September 24, 2009 at 12:10 am #

    Love it! Stay tuned for possible stencil options in an upcoming Free Design Friday post.

  4. Patti September 24, 2009 at 1:16 pm #

    What a cool idea – I would never have thought about this. I am sure gifts will weather shipping much better this way than in wrapping paper! Thanks

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Free Design Friday : Reduce, Reuse and Recycle a T-Shirt « - September 29, 2009

    […] Who is G|F? Bag Lady : Loving Eco-Friendly Totes […]

Leave a Reply

