Back to School (and Shoplifting)

20 Aug

My name is Catherine, and I’m a designer.

{Hi, Catherine}

Strike that. Let’s try this again :: My name is Catherine, and I’m a shoplifter.

{Hi, Catherine}

Two years ago, when Jacqueline and I toyed with the idea of starting a “written communications company” (J insisted “stationery” didn’t fully encompass our mission), I began researching design – our competition, if you will. So much beautiful work out there, so many unique perspectives – it just makes you want to get married all over again. Anyway, last summer, I came across Lucky Me!, the official blog of Lucky Designs, for the first time. So naturally I was thrilled to stumble upon it again today while doing some very necessary market research (also known as “surfing the net” or “procrastinating”).

Yesterday, Kathryn posted her take on the Back to School theme. It’s gorgeous, whimsical and – most of all – inspirational : those chalkboard place mats, the classroom bridal portraits, the lunchbox favors, the apples, the school bus, the Mead composition book. It’s enough to make a girl want to sharpen a whole slew of Ticonderoga No. 2 pencils.

So I’m a designer who shoplifts ideas. Stay tuned for my “inspired” invitation suite based on this theme. Thanks, Kathryn!

Kathryn's Back to School Inspiration Board, as found on the Lucky Me! blog

Kathryn's Back to School Inspiration Board, as found on the Lucky Me! blog

Leave a Reply

